Necessity, invention, and this running mama…

People often ask me where I find the time to run 30 miles a week.  After all, I have an active ten month old genius on my hands and my husband works about 50 hours a week in London.  The fact of the matter is that I have to be pretty organized about my running schedule, and sometimes I have to get a bit creative.

If you’re friends with me in the UK, and you’ve been over to my house, this scenario has probably happened to you.  I lure you in with a delicious home cooked lunch, fresh cookies or banana bread, and coffee.  As soon as you get comfortable- BAM, I ask you if you mind terribly watching Daisy for 45 minutes or so, and quicker than most people can react I’m changed into running gear and sprinting for the door.  Seriously, my friends are awesome y’all, and they really help me put the miles in.  Also, Dan’s family have really taken me on as one of their own, and his parents love having Daisy on Saturday mornings.  Saturdays are usually my long run day, and it’s also nice to have a little break to drink my coffee with both hands.  And, of course my husband (my number one fan) does whatever he can so that I can have the opportunity to run.  I feel really grateful for my little support system.

Today I decided to try something different, and inspired by my sister, I took Daisy with me out for a run.  I don’t have a jogging stroller, but I do have a fancy-schmancy pram with big wheels and shocks and all that so I figured we’d be fine.  It turned out to be a really fun experience for the both of us, and Daisy loved watching the sea whip by (okay, slowly go by- I wasn’t going that fast) and it was a nice bonding experience for us.  I still enjoy my running time alone, but I think taking Daisel out from time to time is another really good way to meet my goals.

Speaking of goals, in January I ran 133.3 miles.  I’m actually pretty pleased with this number, and I’m looking for at least 134 miles in February.  I also signed up for a ‘Brutal 10’ on February 23rd which is sort of like a bad ass 10k, with big hills, mud, swamps, and streams to ford.  I figure completing the Brutal 10 in under 60 minutes would up my bad ass quotient by at least another 15%.  I’ll keep you posted, but until then keep on running. -Sarah

One thought on “Necessity, invention, and this running mama…

  1. Way to go! Sounds like a good option, but you still need your time to yourself. Wish I lived closer so I could watch her and drink all your coffee. Bwahahahaha!

Leave a comment