Lazy Amy’s Guide to Running

Sorry about the delayed update. I been busy taking care of my five-month-old baby and basking in glorious Northern California sunshine. It is tough to sit indoors in front of a computer when the sky looks like this:

409440_10151354699435926_796961987_n

It finally started raining so back to business. I have to admit, Madame “I ran eight miles in the snow” is a tough act to follow. Were we in another family, I would be surprised. But we come from amazing stock. Our grandfather built a car when he was ten years old so he could drive his crippled brother to school. Our mom worked full-time, went to art school, took care of our sick grandfather, AND raised us without any help. Sarah was accepted into a prestigious NYC ballet school’s summer session after only a couple of years of lessons. And so on…but somehow I did not inherit these industrious and high-achieving traits. Somewhere back in time there must be an ancestor who enjoyed lounging around and drinking good beer. I must take after her.

In previous endeavors my modus operandi was to either a) overdo the activity/project and burn out quickly, or b) approach the activity/project in a half-ass way and eventually stop altogether. In an attempt to avoid both of those outcomes I am taking a slower, more diligent approach. My average run is about 2 miles. To me that seems like a paltry joke of a run, but I should probably cut myself some slack. I am out of shape and only started running regularly about a week ago. Still, two miles is more than distance of the Golden Gate bridge (1.7 miles). My current goal is to get to the point where I can run the span of the Golden Gate Bridge and back without stopping to rest. I’ll have to do that on a weekday to avoid crowds.

Upon finding out that I overestimated the distance of previous runs I downloaded the Noom CardioTrainer app for my phone. There is a GPS feature to both allow you to better keep track of distance AND let Big Brother keep track of you. It is a serviceable app, though, so until I become the real-life female version of Jason Bourne I will continue to use it.

Instead of boring you with updates like “I ran 3 miles” I want to devise a visually enticing graph that would surely dazzle all four of our readers. As my son becomes more mobile finding time to do non-essential things might be a challenge, but I promise I will get it done! Eventually.

More updates soon! If this doesn’t inspire you, nothing will:

6119_274313036030866_1481698414_n

One thought on “Lazy Amy’s Guide to Running

  1. I may be Sarah’s friend, but I’m definitely more like you. I could have written this myself! Minus the running two miles part. 😉 Seriously, running two miles, or any distance at all is amazing, especially when you are a new mom. You’re doing great!

Leave a comment